God Rewards Seekers

God Rewards Seekers by Wendy L. Macdonald

When you hear the word reward, what do you think of?

The first thing that came to mind when I saw the word reward as a writing prompt was a specific Bible verse about rewards. I understand we’re saved by grace and that God sought and bought us through the blood of Jesus, but I’ve also come to know and understand that God is a gentleman who never forces Himself on us.

We need to seek Him too; We’re rewarded as we do.

Rewards such as: help, hope, joy, love, and healing all happen when we diligently seek Him. I learned the reward verse years ago while I was a new Christian. I learned it matters if we spend time with God so that our relationship with Him grows deeper and wider than when we first started walking with Him.

God rewards those Who put Him first And choose only Him To quench their thirst

Rewards come now and later; rewards are for those who have put God first their hearts, minds, and lives.I want to encourage others to seek Him diligently too.

One of the greatest rewards for me is to find out I inspired someone to spend more time with God and with His word.

Now here’s the verse I alluded to:

And without faith it is impossible to please God,

because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists

and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

Hebrews 11:6 NIV

God Rewards Seekers by Wendy L. Macdonald

Do you find it rewarding to pursue God?

God rewards those

Who put Him first

And choose only Him

To quench their thirst

God rewards those

Who seek diligently

His will and His way

So He will be pleased.

~ wlm

Rewarding blessings ~ Wendy Mac

Do you know what a zareba is? You can find out more on my blog post here: Zareba

You’re invited to read my recent post on HeartWings blog about being thankful during persecution: Thankfulness in Persecution

You’re also invited to view my podcast page on HopeStreamRadio where they’ve made it easier than ever to choose and listen to podcasts: Walking with Hope

God Rewards Seekers by Wendy L. Macdonald

4 thoughts on “God Rewards Seekers

  1. This is an uncomfortable one for me, Wendy, because I often bristle at the reward mentality, yet I cannot deny that it is all over scripture. I want to believe I am laboring in the kingdom because I love Jesus and am deeply appreciative of what he has done on my behalf, but the “carrot” is always hung out there in front of me/us. It seems like such an ignoble motivation.

    1. I’m with you, Damon, about being uncomfortable about the “reward mentality.” In marriage, for instance, we are “rewarded” with a more fulfilling relationship with our spouse when we seek to live out unconditional love and respect. We don’t do it for the rewards, we do it because we love God and love our partner. This is one topic that must take many Scriptures into account in order to foster godly motivations. Thankfully, God cannot be fooled by insincere reward seekers. We are to seek and love Him first.

Leave a Reply