Autumn’s Song

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Autumn’s Song

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Character’s deepened

harvest hues etched

upon lingering leaves

scarlet edged

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

Cold coal nights

with fracturing frosts

starved of sunlight

yet gold embossed

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

Beauty’s emboldened

though veiled all along

foliage sways dance like

to late autumn’s song

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

A season’s emerging

when all dross is done

bare branches as brides

under white winter’s Sun.

~

Wendy/2013

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

No, we have not had snow yet this year…

this is our home on Christmas Day last December.

Our garden is swiftly loosing leaves.

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

We’ve just had light frost so far.

(The above photo is from last winter.)

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

I hope you are finding autumnal beauty

in your neighborhood.

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

Happy November 1st from our house to yours.

Blessings ~ Wendy

~

64 thoughts on “Autumn’s Song

  1. Whispers of rum, this is unbelievable photographs Wendy! I can stare at these over and over, every blink is a new memory for me! What an commanding Autumn! I love your blog~and you ! Faithfully Debbie

    Like

    1. Debbie, I am so glad that you enjoyed them. Often, I think of readers who may not get out much when I post the nature pictures. Thank you for blessing me with your kind words, dear poet friend. xo

      Like

  2. Wendy,
    I could imagine the crisp autumn air, the crunch of the leaves underfoot and the solo flight of the leaf. Your poem is very reflective…delightful. I am ready for winter and inspired! Thank you for sharing. ~Zoey

    Like

I enjoy a word in season, so I'd love it if you added an apple to the bowl.

