Scarlet Fever!

Hide n’ seek!

On my way to take a picture of a flower, in my daughter’s rock garden, I caught Scarlet Fever!  It’s not the dreaded fever; but the kind of over-the-top fascination with something. The bees started it.

You see, all summer I have been chasing those fuzzy winged critters! Just when I had peace that it was as good as it was going to get… Scarlet Fever struck!

I have never seen so many bees in one spot before.  Except you know where… I have no interest in a close-up of a beehive.  The only honey I want is the kind with no hummers in sight.

But it wasn’t just the abundance of bees that amazed me: They were so completely transfixed!

They only had eyes for the scarlet runner bean flowers; and they didn’t even budge when I came up really close…so close that I stuck my camera lens into their busy little faces.

They just didn’t care.  Wow!  Usually they get all moody and storm off. Kinda reminds me of a particular age group – but I don’t want to digress into gossip…

But it wasn’t just their tolerance of me that left me stupefied.  They were not in a hurry.  I am not sure if it is because scarlet runner bean flowers are extra work or extra good?

Oh, that I would always dig into God’s word with such passion and attentiveness! Hunger prevailed, and I tore myself away to enjoy a feast of red rice, that my husband prepared for lunch.  Mom was right –  an eleven is a ten that can cook!

Ironically, the wrapping paper that covered a family Bible, Ian gave me on our honeymoon, had the following verse on it:  Taste and see that the Lord is good… Psalm 34:8a  I’m thinking that those feverish bees agree! I do.  God is good!

Recovering from Scarlet Fever,

~ Wendy

17 thoughts on “Scarlet Fever!

  1. A refreshing word and I could almost smell the flowers and hear the bees through the beauty of your pictures! God’s gift of creation truly is a wonderful thing to behold!

    Blessings! ♥

    Like

  2. What an opportunity – you saw it and grabbed it – and got some very lovely shots in the process. Hmmmm – another life lesson lurking in the scarlet, perhaps? 🙂 Nice post.

    Like

  3. Love, love, love this! The pictures are beautiful and what skill to catch the bees. Then to connect to the Word in such a wonderful inspired way.. I enjoy my visits here. And that is why I also want to nominate you for the illuminating Blogger Award. Illuminate, light, from the Word and from creation itself. Please, follow this link for the award: http://lifesearchforchrist.wordpress.com/?p=2606&preview=true If you choose to accept any of these awards, I would be most honored. God bless!

    Like

  4. Beautiful photo’s wendy up close and personal. I love bee’s, they love me too. They’ll land on my hand and walk around until I shoo them away (I get teased about it too!) the bee’s bounty is awesome, thank you God, very much. Lovely post. 🙂

    Like

      1. Thanks, actually that’s one of the family jokes re: the bee’s, sigh, better friendly than not I suppose! And what an excellent thing for your flower garden! It’s my pleasure visiting you!

        Like

I enjoy a word in season, so I'd love it if you added an apple to the bowl.

